Skip to content

Author: James Colton

James Colton loves supernatural horror in the tradition of M. R. James and Shirley Jackson. He also writes epic fantasy, draws pictures of ghosts, and practices the duelist forms of swordplay. He was born in Northern Virginia, but has spent most of his life in Upstate New York where he currently resides with his wife and son. You can read more of his work at theNoctrium.com.

Oblivion’s Call

Roy’s hand dripped over the chalice. Crimson drops made black in the dimness, echoing as they mingled with the blood of everyone else who had preceded us. “What the—” I began, grabbing for Roy’s arm to pull him back, but he shoved me away. “I don’t even feel it anymore. Besides, it’s a small price…

Come Home

It’s the last thing I see before falling asleep. That wisp of shadow cast upon my bedroom wall. I always wonder what’s doing the casting. It can’t be the ceiling fan, it’s the wrong shape for that—but next thing I know my alarm’s ringing and the night is over. I instinctively glance at my phone…

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!